Welcome

Jones County Courthouse

Jones County Courthouse

Jones County was established in 1881, and named for Anson Jones, (1798-1858), the last President of the Texas Republic.  Jones County is the site of the Emigrant Trail, The Frontier Military Road and Fort Phantom Hill.

The county is located in West Central Texas, and is part of the Rolling Plains. The size of the county is roughly 937 square miles, with agriculture being the primary industry. Agricultural production includes cotton, wheat, grain sorghum, hay, and cattle.   There are five school districts and various communities throughout the county.  School districts within the county include Anson, Hamlin, Stamford, Hawley, and Lueders/Avoca.  The population of the county in 2010, was 20,202.

County government information can be found here.

 

AgriLife Today

  • Big Country’s Multi-County Wheat Tour slated for May 1
    Apr 20Big Country’s Multi-County Wheat Tour slated for May 1

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Robert Pritz, 325-672-6048, r-pritz@tamu.edu ABILENE – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the Multi-County Wheat Tour beginning at 8:30 a.m. May 1 at the Taylor County variety plots located off State Highway 351 on County Road 52, also known as Mesquite Lane. Robert Pritz, AgriLife Extension agent […]

  • High Country Beef and Range Management Update slated for May 6 in Marfa
    Apr 17High Country Beef and Range Management Update slated for May 6 in Marfa

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Jesse Lea Schneider, 432-729-4746, jlschneider@ag.tamu.edu Logan Boswell, 432-837-6207, l-boswell@tamu.edu MARFA – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct the High Country Beef and Range Management Update from 8:30 a.m.-3 p.m. May 6 at the Marfa National Bank, 301 S. Highland Ave. in Marfa. The multi-county program will be […]

  • Grant writing workshop helps researchers secure federal dollars
    Apr 17Grant writing workshop helps researchers secure federal dollars

    Contact. Dr. Craig Nessler, 979-845-8486, cnessler@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION— More than 70 researchers attended a recent grant writing workshop to obtain the necessary skills to successfully compete for and acquire large federal grants, officials said. The free workshop was hosted by Texas A&M AgriLife Research at the AgriLife Center at Texas A&M University, College Station. “In […]

  • Texas Ag Commissioner to speak at agricultural conference in Austin
    Apr 17Texas Ag Commissioner to speak at  agricultural conference in Austin

    Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu AUSTIN – Texas Agriculture Commissioner Sid Miller will be one of several speakers at the 17th National Value-Added Agricultural Conference May 18-20 at the Austin Marriott South, 4415 South Interstate 35 in Austin. The conference is hosted by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and the agricultural economics department at […]

  • AgriLife Extension fields third set of Quail Appreciation Days
    Apr 16AgriLife Extension fields third set of Quail Appreciation Days

    Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Dale Rollins, 325-653-4576, d-rollins@tamu.edu Rebekah Ruzicka, 661-618-3956, becky.ruzicka@tamu.edu   SAN ANGELO – The Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service will conduct a third set of Quail Appreciation Days across Texas this spring for landowners, naturalists and others interested in actively stopping the decline of wild native quail through proper […]